Front Cover
HarperCollins, 2013 - JUVENILE FICTION - 402 pages
A bewitching new series from the bestselling author of the Evernight series Ages: 12+ When Nadia's family moves to Captive's Sound, she immediately realises there's more to the place than meets the eye. Descended from witches, Nadia can sense that a spell has been cast over the tiny Rhode Island town - a sickness infecting everyone and everything in it. The magic at work is darker and more powerful than anything she's come across, and the person it has affected most is Mateo - her rescuer, friend and the guy she yearns to get closer to, even though he pushes her away. Mateo's family have a tormented past and it soon becomes evident that Mateo is the next member of his family to be cursed, particularly when the strange dreams Mateo has been having of rescuing a beautiful girl from a car accident actually come true. Despite the forces pulling them apart, Nadia and Mateo must work together to break his terrible family curse and prevent a coming disaster that threatens the entire town, including Nadia's family, her newfound friends and her own life.Shimmering with magic and mystery, New York Times and number one bestselling author Claudia Gray's first book in a new trilogy depicts a dark and unforgettable world of witches, curses, buried secrets and star-crossed romance.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - angeljmartin - LibraryThing

As with almost every other book I've read by Claudia Gray, I absolutely adored this book and series. The characters were likable and relatable. The plot did seem rushed at times, but for the most part ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - anacskie - LibraryThing

Whew! This is definitely a page turner book for me. So glad I bought this book from the Dollar store. I can't wait to read the next installment. And looking forward to what will happen to Nadia, Mateo and Verlaine. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Claudia Gray is the pseudonym of Amy Vincent. She is the author of the Evernight series, Spellcaster series, Firebird series, and several books in the Star Wars series.

Bibliographic information