Becoming Bonnie: A Novel

Front Cover
Macmillan, May 9, 2017 - Fiction - 320 pages

Perfect for readers of Paula McClain, Lisa Wingate, and Hazel Gaynor, and fans of Bonnie and Clyde, Breaking Bad and Netflix's The Highwaymen, Jenni L. Walsh's sparkling debut tells the story of Bonnie Parker as it's never been told before—in her own words.

It's the summer of 1927, and Bonnelyn Parker is more likely to belt out a church hymn than sling drinks at an illicit juice joint. She’s a sharp girl with plans to overcome her family's poverty, provide for herself, and maybe someday marry her boyfriend, Roy Thornton. But in Cement City, Texas, there aren't many jobs a girl can do.

When Bonnelyn finds work at Doc's, Dallas's newest speakeasy, she finds herself falling hard—for the music, for the freedom, and for a young man with a hint of danger in his smile.

Bonnie is about to meet Clyde Barrow. And her life—like her country—is headed for a crash.

"How do you get from good girl to gangster's moll? Jenni Walsh takes you along for the ride with Bonnelyn Parker in an account so vivid you would think you were there with her.”—New York Times bestselling author Lauren Willig

"In Becoming Bonnie, Jenni Walsh delivers an intriguing insight into the life of one half of the infamous duo, Bonnie and Clyde. I look forward to reading more from this new author." —New York Times bestselling author Hazel Gaynor

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tina1969 - LibraryThing

Apart from the Tudors and Victorian London another strong interest I have is with Bonnie and Clyde. There are non fiction books out there but not fiction. So when I saw this one I had to have my own ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - TexasBookLover - LibraryThing

HISTORICAL FICTION Jenni L. Walsh Becoming Bonnie: A Novel Forge Books Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
7
Section 2
11
Section 3
19
Section 4
26
Section 5
42
Section 6
50
Section 7
61
Section 8
69
Section 21
173
Section 22
181
Section 23
191
Section 24
198
Section 25
204
Section 26
209
Section 27
215
Section 28
225

Section 9
75
Section 10
90
Section 11
100
Section 12
106
Section 13
115
Section 14
119
Section 15
124
Section 16
134
Section 17
139
Section 18
148
Section 19
159
Section 20
167
Section 29
232
Section 30
241
Section 31
246
Section 32
255
Section 33
262
Section 34
273
Section 35
283
Section 36
287
Section 37
294
Section 38
301
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

JENNI L. WALSH has spent the past decade enticing readers as an award-winning advertising copywriter. Her passion lies in transporting readers to another world, be it in historical or contemporary settings. She is a proud graduate of Villanova University, and lives in the Philly 'burbs with her husband, daughter, son, and goldendoodle. She is the author of Becoming Bonnie and Side by Side.

Bibliographic information