Sparrow: A Novel

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Mar 17, 2020 - Young Adult Fiction - 352 pages
5 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson’s Speak, Mary Cecilia Jackson's devastating but hopeful YA debut is about a ballerina who finds the courage to confront the abuse that haunts her past and threatens her future.

There are two kinds of people on the planet. Hunters and prey

I thought I would be safe after my mother died. I thought I could stop searching for new places to hide. But you can’t escape what you are, what you’ve always been.
My name is Savannah Darcy Rose.
And I am still prey.

Though Savannah Rose—“Sparrow” to her friends and family—is a gifted ballerina, her real talent is keeping secrets. Schooled in silence by her long-dead mother, Sparrow has always believed that her lifelong creed—“I’m not the kind of girl who tells”—will make her just like everyone else: Normal. Happy. Safe.

But in the aftermath of a brutal assault by her seemingly perfect boyfriend Tristan, Sparrow must finally find the courage to confront the ghosts of her past, or lose herself forever....

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - oldandnewbooksmell - LibraryThing

Trigger Warnings: abuse, assault, dating violence Sparrow is about 17-year-old ballet prodigy Savannah Rose, aka Sparrow, and her journey after being violently assaulted by her boyfriend, Tristan. The ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lflareads - LibraryThing

Release date: March 17, 2020 Sparrow by Mary Vecilia Jackson brings the reader into the life of Savannah. Savannah, Sparrow, spends her time outside of school at ballet practice with her dance partner ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2020)

Mary Cecilia Jackson has worked as a middle school teacher, an adjunct instructor of college freshmen, a technical writer and editor, a speechwriter, a museum docent, and a development officer for central Virginia’s PBS and NPR stations. Her first novel, Sparrow, was an honor recipient of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators' Sue Alexander Award, and a young adult finalist in the Writers’ League of Texas manuscript contest. She lives with her architect husband, William, in Western North Carolina and Hawaii.

Bibliographic information