Witness the Dead

Front Cover
FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF RANDOM AND MURDERABILIA - DS Rachel Narey must bring a serial killer to justice. Scotland 1972.Glasgow is haunted by a murderer nicknamed Red Silk - a feared serial killer who selects his victims in the city's nightclubs. The case remains unsolved but Archibald Atto, later imprisoned for other murders, is thought to be Red Silk. In modern-day Glasgow, DS Rachel Narey is called to a gruesome crime scene at the city's Necropolis. The body of a young woman lies stretched out over a tomb. Her body bears a three-letter message from her killer. Now retired, former detective Danny Neilson spots a link between the new murder and those he investigated in 1972 - details that no copycat killer could have known about. But Atto is still behind bars. Determined finally to crack the case, Danny, along with his nephew, police photographer Tony Winter, pays Atto a visit. But they soon discover that they are going to need the combined efforts of police forces past and present to bring a twisted killer to justice. Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson's debut thriller Random was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. Praise for Craig Robertson: 'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror 'I can't recommend this book highly enough' MARTINA COLE 'Brace yourself to be horrified and hooked' EVA DOLAN 'Fantastic characterisation, great plotting, page-turning and gripping. The best kind of intelligent and moving crime fiction writing' LUCA VESTE 'Really enjoyed Murderabilia - disturbing, inventive, and powerfully and stylishly written. Recommended' STEVE MOSBY 'A great murder mystery witha brilliantly realised setting and deftly painted characters' JAMES OSWALD 'Takes a spine-tingling setting and an original storyli

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Daftboy1 - LibraryThing

This is an excellent read. Its present day Glasgow, Young girls are being murdered 3 so far there are strong similarities to the Red Silk murders of 1972. The Police are under pressure to solve these ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Craig Robertson was born on April 22, 1962 in England. He is the author of Random, Snapshot, Cold Grave, The Last Refuge, Witness to the Dead and Murderabilia. He started out as a journalist with a Scottish Sunday newspaper. During his 20-year career there he interviewed three Prime Ministers, covered major stories including 9/11, Dunblane, and the disappearance of Madeleine McCann.

Bibliographic information