Advanced Magnetic and Optical Materials

Front Cover
Ashutosh Tiwari, Parameswar K. Iyer, Vijay Kumar, Hendrik Swart
Wiley, Nov 21, 2016 - Technology & Engineering - 560 pages

Advanced Magnetic and OpticalMaterials offers detailed up-to-date chapters on the functional optical and magnetic materials, engineering of quantum structures, high-tech magnets, characterization and new applications. It brings together innovative methodologies and strategies adopted in the research and development of the subject and all the contributors are established specialists in the research area. The 14 chapters are organized in two parts:

Part 1: Magnetic Materials

  • Magnetic Heterostructures and superconducting order
  • Magnetic Antiresonance in nanocomposites
  • Magnetic bioactive glass-ceramics for bone healing and hyperthermic treatment of solid tumors
  • Magnetic iron oxide nanoparticles
  • Magnetic nanomaterial-based anticancer therapy
  • Theoretical study of strained carbon-based nanobelts: Structural, energetical, electronic, and magnetic properties
  • Room temperature molecular magnets – Modeling and applications

Part 2: Optical Materials

  • Advances and future of white LED phosphors for solid-state lighting
  • Design of luminescent materials with “Turn-on/off” response for anions and cations
  • Recent advancements in luminescent materials and their potential applications
  • Strongly confined quantum dots: Emission limiting, photonic doping, and magneto-optical effects
  • Microstructure characterization of some quantum dots synthesized by mechanical alloying
  • Advances in functional luminescent materials and phosphors
  • Development in organic light emitting materials and their potential applications

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Ashutosh Tiwari is Secretary General, International Association of Advanced Materials; Chairman and Managing Director of Tekidag AB (Innotech); Associate Professor and Group Leader, Smart Materials and Biodevices at the world premier Biosensors and Bioelectronics Centre, IFM-Linköping University; Editor-in-Chief, Advanced Materials Letters; a materials chemist and docent in the Applied Physics with the specialization of Biosensors and Bioelectronics from Linköping University, Sweden. He has more than 100 peer-reviewed primary research publications in the field of materials science and nanotechnology and has edited/authored more than 35 books on advanced materials and technology. He is the founder member and chair of American, Asian, European and Advanced Materials World Congress, Smart Materials and Surfaces, Global & European Graphene Forum, International Conference on Smart Energy Technologies, International Conference on Material Science and Technology and World Technology Forum.

Vijay Kumar is currently an Assistant Professor at Chandigarh University, Gharuan, Mohali, India. He received his PhD (Physics/Material Science) from Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology, Longowal (Deemed to be University) and in Collaboration with Inter University Accelerator Center (Formerly known as Nuclear Science Center), New Delhi. He has published more than 60 research papers in reputed international journals and his research involves synthesis and spectroscopic investigations of rare earth/transitional metal ions doped nanomaterials, nanocomposites, and hybrid materials to achieve color tunable emission in solid-state lighting and white light LEDs. He has received the Young Scientist Award from the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, New Delhi.

Hendrik C Swart is a senior professor in the Department of Physics at the University of the Free State, South Africa. He received his PhD in Physics at the end of 1992 from the University of the Free State. Over the past 20 years he has led research in the area of the degradation of phosphors for field emission displays, as well as developing materials for nano solid state lighting. He has more than 420 publications in international peer reviewed journals, 100 peer reviewed conference proceedings and 7 book chapters and books with more than 2900 cited author references and more than 480 national and international conference contributions. He received honorary membership of the Golden Key Association (2012). He has supervised 60 PhD and MSc students successfully in the past with another 17 in progress and has established a National Nano Surface Characterization Facility (NNSCF) containing state-of- the- art surface characterization equipment. A research chair in Solid State Luminescent and Advanced Materials was awarded to him from the South African Research Chairs Initiative (SARChI) at the end of 2012.

Bibliographic information