Front Cover
Feiwel & Friends, Aug 18, 2015 - Juvenile Fiction - 304 pages

An enthralling adventure set in a strange world on the high seas.
Petrel is an outcast on the ancient ship, an icebreaker, that has been following the same course for 300 years. In that time, the ship's crew has forgotten its original purpose and broken into three warring tribes. Everyone has a tribe except Petrol. Nicknamed the Nothing Girl, Petrel has been ostracized ever since her parents were thrown overboard as punishment for a terrible crime.
But Petrel is a survivor. She lives in the ship's darkest corners, and trusts no one except two large gray rats - that is, until a mysterious boy is discovered barely alive on an iceberg, and brought onto the ship. He claims to have forgotten even his name. The tribes don't trust strangers, so Petrel hides the boy, hoping he will be her friend. What she doesn't know is that the ship guards a secret - a secret the boy has been sent to destroy.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookwren - LibraryThing

Icebreaker is a whirlwind adventure set in future Antarctica on a huge ship divided into “tribes.” Only Petrel is tribe-less, called the “Nothing Girl.” Yet she knows the ship better than anyone and ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - InfoQuest - LibraryThing

In this trilogy-opener, twelve-year-old Petrel is scrabbling to survive as an outcast on the ancient icebreaker, the Oyster, as internecine conflicts threaten to break out (once more) into civil war ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2015)

Lian Tanner is the author of the Keepers trilogy (Museum of Thieves, City of Lies, Path of Beasts), winner of numerous awards around the world, including the Aurealis Award for Children's Fiction. She lives in Australia.

Bibliographic information