To Be Honest

Front Cover
Feiwel & Friends, Aug 21, 2018 - Young Adult Fiction - 304 pages
0 Reviews

An NPR Best YA Book of 2018

The author of The Big F is back with another snappy, utterly relatable contemporary novel about loving yourself and forging your own path.

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her big sister—and best friend—goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she'll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn't count on is that her mother's obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy's mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom's diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

To Be Honest is another sharp, witty novel from Maggie Ann Martin, about a spunky heroine who is dealing with very real issues—body image, parental pressure, loneliness, first love, and finding your way—with heart and humor.

Praise for To Be Honest:

"Savvy’s story is a welcome one in today’s YA market and will help spread a much-needed message to teens about parental mental health issues and the potential dangers of diet culture." —School Library Journal, starred review

"I love that the book, itself, is not obsessed with its plus-size main character. ... It's a shame that books like this are so few and far between." —NPR

"To Be Honest captures the struggle to be proud of who you are and to find the courage to live boldly, no matter your shape or size ... For fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and Dumplin’." —GERM Magazine

 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
11
Section 3
32
Section 4
38
Section 5
45
Section 6
56
Section 7
69
Section 8
72
Section 17
151
Section 18
164
Section 19
167
Section 20
170
Section 21
182
Section 22
196
Section 23
207
Section 24
219

Section 9
82
Section 10
95
Section 11
98
Section 12
99
Section 13
108
Section 14
113
Section 15
118
Section 16
133
Section 25
228
Section 26
241
Section 27
253
Section 28
263
Section 29
273
Section 30
282
Section 31
291
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Maggie Ann Martin, author of The Big F and To Be Honest, hails from Des Moines, Iowa but moonlights as a New Yorker. She earned her BA in English and Journalism from the University of Iowa, the most welcoming literary community in the world. When she is not writing, you can find her binge-watching TV shows or passionately fangirling over fictional characters on the Internet.

Bibliographic information