This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Jan 7, 2020 - Young Adult Fiction - 352 pages

Winner of the American Library Association's Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz, This Light Between Us is a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war.


“I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda

In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie LÚvy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature.

From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - deslivres5 - LibraryThing

American boy of Japanese descent, Alex Maki, and French Jewish girl, Charlie LÚvy, are paired up as pen pals when they are 9 years old and continue their correspondences for another 10 years. This ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JRlibrary - LibraryThing

I haven’t before read a story that links the containment of Japanese Americans (Pearl Harbour) with the imprisonment of Jewish people in Auschwitz. Tough subject to read about but Fukuda did a good ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2020)

Born in Manhattan and raised in Hong Kong, ANDREW FUKUDA earned a bachelor’s degree in history from Cornell University and worked as a criminal prosecutor for seven years before becoming a full-time writer. Fukuda’s experience volunteering with the immigrant teen community in Manhattan’s Chinatown led to the writing of Crossing, his debut novel that was selected by ALA Booklist as an Editor’s Choice, Top Ten First Novel, and Top Ten Crime Novel. He currently resides on Long Island, New York, with his family.

Bibliographic information