Tordotcom Publishing 2022 Debut Sampler

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Mar 8, 2022 - Fiction - 128 pages
0 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

Tordotcom Publishing is proud to present a sneak peek of its 2022 debut novel and novella authors.

In modern day Los Angeles, a shadowy faction led by the Governor of California develops the arcane art of combat linguistics, planting the seeds of a future totalitarian empire in Scotto Moore's Battle of the Linguist Mages.

Marion Deed's Comeuppance Served Cold is a hard-boiled historical fantasy of criminality and magic, couched in the glamour of Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries.

In the tradition of Mira Grant and Stephen Graham Jones, Malcolm Devlin’s And Then I Woke Up is a creepy, layered, literary story about false narratives and their ability to divide us.

Celebrated short fiction author Rachel Swirsky returns with January Fifteenth, a gut-wrenching, near-future novella humanizing the experimental, practically science fictional policy of universal basic income.

Margaret Atwood meets Kazuo Ishiguro in Joma West's Face, a sci-fi domestic drama that reimagines race and class in a genetically engineered society fed by performative fame.

Meet the cure for the human disease in this dark and infectious debut from Hiron Ennes. Leech is Edgar Allen Poe mixed with Ridley Scott, Jeff VanderMeer with a side of Charlotte Brontė, The Thing from the thing's point of view. It will worm its way deep into your bones and hold you hostage to your own insatiable human fascination.

Pepper Rafferty has lived her entire adult life knowing two things: that the famous artist, Ula Frost's, paintings are purported to harbor magical powers and that Ula Frost is the woman who gave her away. Aimee Pokwatka's Self-Portrait with Nothing is a heartstopping quest for truth written for a post-modern age with the world-melding of David Mitchell and the intimacy of Marilynn Robinson.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2022)

Scotto Moore is a Seattle playwright, whose works include the black comedy H.P. Lovecraft: Stand-up Comedian!, the sci-fi adventures Duel of the Linguist Mages and interlace [falling star], the gamer-centric romantic comedy Balconies, and the a cappella sci-fi musical, Silhouette. He is the creator of The Coffee Table, a comedic web series about a couple that discovers their new coffee table is an ancient alien artifact that sends their house shooting through the void. He is also behind the popular Lovecraft-themed meme generator, Things That Cannot Save You (“a catalog of your doom”), which spawned his novella, Your Favorite Band Cannot Save You.

Marion Deeds was born in Santa Barbara, California and moved to northern California when she was five. She loves the redwoods, the ocean, dogs and crows. She’s fascinated by the unexplained, and curious about power: who has it, who gets it, what is the best way to wield it. These questions inform her stories. Deeds has published Aluminum Leaves and Copper Road from Falstaff Books, with short works in Podcastle and several anthologies. She reviews fiction and writes a column for the review site Fantasy Literature.

Malcolm Devlin’s stories have appeared in Black Static, Interzone, The Shadow Booth, and Shadows and Tall Trees. His first collection, You Will Grow Into Them was published by Unsung Stories in 2017 and shortlisted for the British Fantasy and Saboteur Awards. A second collection, also with Unsung Stories, was published in Summer 2021. He currently lives in Brisbane.

Rachel Swirsky received an MFA in fiction from the Iowa Writers Workshop, and has been nominated for the Hugo, Locus, and World Fantasy Awards, and twice won the Nebula Award. She recently moved to Portland, Oregon where she is currently in love with the rain (though aware she might not be later). Her books include Placed into Abyss (Mise en Abyse) and A Memory of Wind.

Joma West is a third culture writer whose work straddles both fantasy and science fiction. Growing up bouncing between countries has given her work a certain displaced flavour and you can see many African and Asian influences in her writing. Joma's novella, Wild, won the 2016 MMU novella award. She has had short stories published in various anthologies. She lives in Glasgow.

Hiron Ennes is a writer, musician, and student of medicine based in the Pacific Northwest. Their areas of interest include infectious disease, pathology, and anticapitalist healthcare reform. When they're not hunched over a microscope or word document they can be found playing in the snow or playing the harp (though usually not at the same time). They're queer in every sense of the word, and they really want to pet your dog.
Leech is their first novel.

Aimee Pokwatka grew up in Wheeling, West Virginia. She studied anthropology at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, and received her MFA in creative writing from Syracuse University. Her work has been published in Fairy Tale Review, Outlook Springs, Hunger Mountain, and elsewhere. She lives in New York with her family.

Bibliographic information