The Cuckoo's Calling

Front Cover
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
709
4 stars
1458
3 stars
689
2 stars
201
1 star
65

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Nicole_13 - LibraryThing

Let me start off by saying that I listened to this as an audio book, so if there were any problems with the writing (complaints I've read in other reviews) I didn't notice them as the narrator read ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - thoroughlyme - LibraryThing

The first book in the Cormoran Strike series is, overall, an excellent entry in the bibliography of J.K. Rowling (writing under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.) While the mystery itself is a little ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

After several years with the Royal Military Police, Robert Galbraith was attached to the SIB (Special Investigative Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who returned to the civilian world. 'Robert Galbraith' is a pseudonym.

Bibliographic information