The Cuckoo's Calling

Front Cover
When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case. Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger ...A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is a classic crime novel in the tradition of P. D. James and Ruth Rendell, and marks the beginning of a unique series of mysteries.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
712
4 stars
1459
3 stars
689
2 stars
201
1 star
65

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tanya-dogearedcopy - LibraryThing

Cormoran Strike, ex military police has set up shop in the London, England area as a private detective. Robin, a young temp, is thrilled to be assigned a secretarial position despite the rundown ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bdgamer - LibraryThing

Rowling has proven herself to be a highly capable wordsmith. First of all, I would've enjoyed this book even if J. K. Rowling hadn't written it. Having said that, it is inevitable to draw comparisons ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

After several years with the Royal Military Police, Robert Galbraith was attached to the SIB (Special Investigative Branch), the plain-clothes branch of the RMP. He left the military in 2003 and has been working since then in the civilian security industry. The idea for Cormoran Strike grew directly out of his own experiences and those of his military friends who returned to the civilian world. 'Robert Galbraith' is a pseudonym.

Bibliographic information