The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Short Stories

Front Cover
Orion Publishing Group, Limited, Oct 9, 2014 - Detective and mystery stories, English - 464 pages
There is no detective like DI Rebus. Brilliant, irascible and endlessly frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, he has made the dark places of Edinburgh his comfort and his home for over two decades. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable in "Dead and Buried," right up to his dramatic -- but as it turns out, not quite final -- retirement in "The Very Last Drop," we see one of the most compelling, brilliant and mesmeric characters of modern times in his every guise and very much in his element. The Beat Goes On combines much-loved classics with previously unpublished gems from other media, and includes two brand-new stories written specifically for this collection -- "The Passenger" and "A Three-Pint Problem." This is the ultimate Ian Rankin treasure trove, a must-have book for aficionados and crime lovers as well as a superb introduction from anyone looking to experience DI John Rebus, and the dark and twist-filled crimes he has to investigate, for the very first time.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CSDaley - LibraryThing

I read this book or a long period of time. Giving myself the gift of a short story between other books I was reading. I really loved seeing the young Rebus again. The stories were great and I was sad ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DrLed - LibraryThing

These are a group of stories that span the career of John Rebus. There are some characters that are included in the longer fiction and some that are not. Some of these tales are good others, not so much. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2014)

Ian Rankin lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

Bibliographic information