The Temporary Wife: And, A Promise of Spring

Front Cover
Thorndike Press, Oct 10, 2012 - Fiction - 677 pages
12 Reviews
In two classic tales of Regency-era romance from "New York Times" bestselling author Mary Balogh, the vagaries of love have a way of challenging the most convenient arrangements.
Miss Charity Duncan has no illusions about Lord Anthony Earheart's proposal. The arrogant aristocrat has made it painfully clear what he wants: a wife who will enrage the father he despises and then disappear from his life. In exchange, Charity's family will receive the money they desperately need. But after Charity agrees to this mockery of matrimony, she soon discovers a startling fact: She has fallen for Anthony, and breaking their marriage vows may also break her heart.
Grace Howard has every reason to be devoted to Sir Peregrine Lampman. After all, the gallant gentleman rescued her from poverty by making her his bride. Even more nobly, he did not withdraw his affection after she confessed to a youthful folly that had compromised her virtue. But Grace did not tell the whole truth about the handsome lord who betrayed her--and now the one thing she's kept from Perry threatens to destroy her last chance at true love.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - wealhtheowwylfing - LibraryThing

The Marquess of Staunton, Anthony Earheart, wants a wife to annoy his dying father (and help him avoid marrying the young lady everyone expects him to marry) so he advertises for a governess and asks ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Bette_Hansen - LibraryThing

Great second chance story. Meg and Jason are brought back together for the sake of Molly but soon realize their love for each other has never died. This debut book is wonderful and I recommend it for ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Mary Balogh is the "New York Times" bestselling author of numerous books, including "The Secret Mistress, "the acclaimed Slightly and Simply novels, and the five titles in her Huxtable series: "First Comes Marriage, Then Comes Seduction, At Last Comes Love, Seducing an Angel, "and "A Secret Affair." A former teacher, she grew up in Wales and now lives in Canada.

Bibliographic information