Montalbano's First Case and Other Stories

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, Feb 23, 2016 - Detective and mystery stories, Italian - 224 pages
"One of fiction's greatest detectives and Camilleri is one of Europe's greatest crime writers" The MirrorMontalbano's First Case and Other Stories is a brilliant collection of short stories, personally chosen by Andrea Camilleri, which follows Inspector Montalbano from his very first case in Vigāta, in which he stumbles upon a young girl lurking outside a courthouse with a pistol in her handbag. When she is taken in for questioning and won't utter a single word, Montalbano must find another way to learn who she is trying to kill, and why . . .Other cases include a missing woman who has run away from the love of her life; an old married couple who appear to be rehearsing their suicides; and a crime so dark there's only one person the inspector can call for help.With twists and turns aplenty, these stories have all the wit, mystery and culinary gusto that Camilleri's fans have come to love him for.PRAISE FOR THE INSPECTOR MONTALBANO SERIES"Breathes out the sense of place and the sense of humour that fills the air of Sicily" Donna Leon"A remarkable series . . . irresistible" Independent"A magnificent series of novels" Sunday Times"For sunny views, explosive characters and a snappy plot constructed with great farcical ingenuity, the writer you want is Andrea Camilleri" New York Times

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - alanteder - LibraryThing

Excellent Montalbano 101 Review of the Penguin paperback edition (2016) [w/ 21 stories] translated primarily* from the Italian original Racconti di Montalbano (Stories of Montalbano) (2008) [w/ 18 ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - atticusfinch1048 - LibraryThing

Montalbanos First Case & Other Stories If you enjoy Andrea Camilleri’s detective Inspector Montalbano, then this book is for you, even if the stories will be familiar to those who have watched the TV ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Andrea Camilleri is one of Italy's most famous contemporary writers. His books have sold over 65 million copies worldwide. He lives in Rome. The Inspector Montalbano series, which began with The Shape of Water, has been translated into 32 languages and was adapted for Italian television, screened on BBC4. The Potter's Field, the thirteenth book in the series, was awarded the Crime Writers' Association's International Dagger for the best crime novel translated into English. In addition to his phenomenally successful Inspector Montalbano series, he is also the author of the historical comic mysteries Hunting Season and The Brewer of Preston.

Bibliographic information