The Dirty Parts of the Bible: A Novel

Front Cover
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, Mar 23, 2010 - Fiction - 269 pages
0 Reviews
A new novel for fans of Water for Elephants, O Brother Where Art Thou?, Mark Twain, and Johnny Cash. PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY says: "While the title suggests a raunchy read, this rich and soulful novel is actually a rather well-done bildungsroman steeped in wanderlust and whimsy that at times recalls The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, and at others a tamer On the Road. The story begins in 1936 as 19-year-old Tobias is thumbing his way from Remus, Mich., to his uncle's farm in Glen Rose, Tex., to find a hidden bag of money, after his father, a Baptist pastor, drunkenly slams his car into the church and is removed from the parsonage. The author does an excellent job in making well-charted territory (riding the rails; scavenged campfire meals under the stars) seem vibrant and new. Snippets of scripture, Southern spirituals, and folk ballads lend context and flavor to the text. Most impressive are the jangly dialogue and the characters' distinctive voices, which are authentic and earthy but not remotely hoary. When Tobias finally arrives at his uncle's, the surprises that await him are more than enough to keep his--and readers'--interests piqued." Semifinalist for the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information