The Dark Between the Stars: The Saga of Shadows, Book One

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Jun 3, 2014 - Fiction - 672 pages

In Kevin J. Anderson's The Dark Between the Stars, galactic empires clash, elemental beings devastate whole planetary systems, and factions of humanity are pitted against each other.

Heroes rise and enemies make their last stands in the climax of an epic tale seven years in the making.

Twenty years after the elemental conflict that nearly tore apart the cosmos in The Saga of Seven Suns, a new threat emerges from the darkness. The human race must set aside its own inner conflicts to rebuild their alliance with the Ildiran Empire for the survival of the galaxy.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - tldegray - LibraryThing

The story--whatever it was--was buried beneath the multiple POVs and the cliched writing. Though I did crack up when it was a man with muscles "in all the right places" instead of the stereotypical woman with curves. DNF. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - LisCarey - LibraryThing

So, this is book one of a series--a good place to start, right? Except that this series is a successor to a previous series, The Saga of the Seven Suns. Of the many characters in this long book, most ... Read full review

Selected pages


Zoe Alakis
Prince Reyn
Tasia Tamblyn
Elisa Reeves
Lee Iswander
General Nalani Keah

Zhett Kellum
Shareen Fitzkellum
Elisa Reeves
Lee Iswander
Tal Galenh
Elisa Reeves
Lee Iswander

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Kevin J. Anderson is the author of more than 120 books, 52 of which have appeared on national or international bestseller lists; he has over 23 million copies in print in thirty languages. He has won or been nominated for the Nebula Award, Bram Stoker Award, The Faust Award, the SFX Reader's Choice Award, the Scribe Award, and New York Times Notable Book.

Kevin has co-authored thirteen books in the Dune saga, including Mentats of Dune and Sisterhood of Dune, with Brian Herbert, in addition to the Hellhole Trilogy. Kevin's epic science fiction series, The Saga of Seven Suns, is a 7-volume opus that topped international bestseller lists.

Bibliographic information