Safehold Boxed Set 1: Off Armageddon Reef, By Schism Rent Asunder, and By Heresies Distressed

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Aug 26, 2014 - Fiction - 1616 pages

David Weber’s bestselling Safehold Series Boxed Set 1 includes: Off Armageddon Reef, By Schism Rent Asunder, and By Heresies Distressed

Humans have fled from Earth, which their enemies, the Gbaba, have left in smoldering ruins. The few human survivors rebuild on the Earth-like planet of Safehold. But the Gbaba can detect the emissions of an industrial civilization, so the human rulers take extraordinary measures to keep Safehold society medieval forever.

Off Armageddon Reef—In a hidden chamber on Safehold, an android from the far human past awakens. Via automated recordings, "Nimue"—or, rather, the android with the memories of Lieutenant Commander Nimue Albanis told her fate: she will emerge into Safeholdian society, suitably disguised, and begin the process of provoking the technological progress which the Church of God Awaiting has worked for centuries to prevent.

By Schism Rent AsunderCharis may control the world's seas, but it barely has an army worthy of the name. And as King Cayleb knows, far too much of the kingdom's recent good fortune is due to the secret manipulations of the being that calls himself Merlin-a being that, the world must not find out too soon, is more than human.

By Heresies Distressed The youthful Queen Sharleyan of Chisholm has wed King Cayleb of Charis, forging a single dynasty, a single empire, dedicated to the defense of human freedom. And so Empress Sharleyan faces the greatest challenge of her life, unaware of all that task truly entails.

Safehold Series
#1 Off Armageddon Reef
#2 By Schism Rent Asunder
#3 By Heresies Distressed
#4 A Mighty Fortress
#5 How Firm a Foundation
#6 Midst Toil and Tribulation
#7 Like a Mighty Army
#8 Hell's Foundations Quiver
#9 At the Sign of Triumph

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages


Royal Palace Tellesberg Kingdom of Charis
Tellesberg and Styvyn Mountains Kingdom of Charis Armageddon Reef
Royal Palace Tellesberg Kingdom of Charis
Baron Wave Thunders Office Tellesberg
Earl Gray Harbors Townhouse Tellesberg
The Duke of Tirians Mansion Kingdom of Charis
Braidee Lahangs Lodgings Tellesberg
Privy Council Chamber Royal Palace Tellesberg

A Private Audience Chamber Royal Palace Tellesberg
Tellesberg Cathedral Tellesberg
Archbishops Palace Tellesberg

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

David Weber is a science fiction phenomenon and the author of the Safehold series, including By Schism Rent Asunder, By Heresies Distressed and A Mighty Fortress. His popular Honor Harrington and Honorverse novels-including Mission of Honor, At All Costs, and Torch of Freedom-are New York Times bestsellers and can't come out fast enough for his devoted readers. His other top-selling science fiction novels include Out of the Dark, the Dahak books and the Multiverse books, written with Linda Evans. He has also created an epic SF adventure series in collaboration with John Ringo, including We Few. His novels have regularly been Main Selections of the Science Fiction Book Club. Weber has a bachelor's degree from Warren Wilson College, and attended graduate school in history at Appalachian State University. He lives in South Carolina.

Bibliographic information