The Cat MEGAPACK : 25 Frisky Feline Tales, Old and New

Front Cover
Wildside Press LLC, Jul 12, 2013 - Fiction - 305 pages
0 Reviews
This volume includes 25 wonderful, wondrous stories and two poems about cats, by major authors old and new. Included are:

INTRODUCTION: ...IN THE DARK, by Robert Reginald
SEVEN SAW MURDER, by G. T. Fleming-Roberts
THE CATS, by H. P. Lovecraft (poem)
OUT OF PLACE, by Pamela Sargent
THE FOX AND THE CAT, by the Brothers Grimm
THE BLACK CAT, by Edgar Allan Poe
NIPPER...NIP...NIP, by Robert Reginald
TOBERMORY, by Saki (H. H. Munro)
THE CAT, by E. F. Benson
A PSYCHICAL INVASION, by Algernon Blackwood
UNIVERSES, by A. R. Morlan (poem)
THE WOMAN AND THE CAT, by Marcel Prevost
DICK BAKER'S CAT, by Mark Twain
BEAST OF THE TARN, by John Russell Fearn
MRS. MILLIGAN'S CAT, by Gary Lovisi
A REVOLT OF THE GODS, by Ambrose Bierce
MONTY'S FRIEND, by William Livingston Alden
THE HEADLESS CAT, by Elliott O’Donnell
ALL CATS ARE GRAY, by Andre Norton
THE SLUM CAT, by Ernest Thompson Seton
MY FATHER, THE CAT, by Henry Slesar
THE BALLET OF THE CATS, by Sydney J. Bounds
LETTERS FROM A CAT, by Helen Hunt Jackson

And don't forget to search this ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see all the volumes in this ongoing series, including volumes of science fiction, fantasy, horror, westerns, adventure, mystery -- and much, much more!

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2013)

Gary Lovisi is a Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award nominated author for the Best Short Story of the year for his Sherlock Holmes pastiche, "The Adventure of the Missing Detective." He is a Holmes fan, collector, and writes various articles and short stories of, and about, The Great Detective - some of which have been collected into the books The Secret Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and More Secret Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Ramble House) and the novel, Sherlock Holmes: The Baron's Revenge (Airship 27). He is the editor of Paperback Parade and Hardboiled magazines, and of the recent Sherlock Holmes anthology, The Great Detective: His Further Adventures (Wildside Press).

Pamela Sargent has won the Nebula and Locus Awards, been a finalist for the Hugo Award, Theodore Sturgeon Award, and Sidewise Award, and was honored in 2012 with the Pilgrim Award, given for lifetime achievement in science fiction and fantasy scholarship, by the Science Fiction Research Association. She is the author of the science fiction novels CLONED LIVES, THE SUDDEN STAR, WATCHSTAR, THE GOLDEN SPACE, THE ALIEN UPSTAIRS, EYE OF THE COMET, HOMESMIND, ALIEN CHILD, THE SHORE OF WOMEN, VENUS OF DREAMS, VENUS OF SHADOWS and CHILD OF VENUS, as well as the alternative history CLIMB THE WIND. RULER OF THE SKY, her 1993 historical novel about Genghis Khan, was a bestseller in Germany and Spain. She also edited the WOMEN OF WONDER anthologies, the first collections of science fiction by women, published in the 1970s by Vintage/Random House and in updated editions during the 1990s by Harcourt Brace; her other anthologies are AFTERLIVES, edited with Ian Watson, BIO-FUTURES and CONQUEROR FANTASTIC. Tor Books reissued her 1983 young adult novel EARTHSEED, selected as a Best Book for Young Adults by the American Library Association, and a sequel, FARSEED, in early 2007. FARSEED was chosen by the New York Public Library for their 2008 Books for the Teen Age list of best books for young adults. A third novel, SEED SEEKER, was published in 2010. EARTHSEED is in development by Paramount Pictures, with Melissa Rosenberg, scriptwriter for all five iTwilighti films, set to write and produce through her Tall Girls Productions. Sargent sold her first published story as a senior in college at the State University of New York/Binghamton University, where she earned a B.A. and M.A. in philosophy and also studied ancient history and Greek. Her short fiction has appeared in magazines and anthologies including The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Asimovis SF Magazine, New Worlds, World Literature Today, Amazing Stories, Rod Serlingis Twilight Zone Magazine, Universe, Nature, and Polyphony, and in her collections STARSHADOWS THE BEST OF PAMELA SARGENT, THE MOUNTAIN CAGE AND OTHER STORIES, BEHIND THE EYES OF DREAMERS AND OTHER SHORT NOVELS, EYE OF FLAME, THUMBPRINTS and most recently DREAM OF VENUS AND OTHER SCIENCE FICTION STORIES, published by The Borgo Press/Wildside Press in 2012. Her short story iThe Shrinei was produced for the syndicated TV anthology series Tales from the Darkside, recently re-released on DVD. Michael Moorcock has said about her writing: iIf you have not read Pamela Sargent, then you should make it your business to do so at once. She is in many ways a pioneer, both as a novelist and as a short story writer...She is one of the best.i Pamela Sargent lives in Albany, New York. Pamela Sargentis website is at A bibliography of her work can be found on the Internet Speculative Fiction Database at http: //

Bibliographic information