Date with Death

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, 2017 - Fiction - 372 pages
Samson O'Brien has been dismissed from the police force--quite unfairly, according to him. Now back in his home town of Bruncliffe in the Yorkshire Dales, Samson sets up the Dales Detective Agency while he fights to clear his name. However, the people of Bruncliffe aren't entirely welcoming to a man they see as trouble. Delilah Metcalfe, meanwhile, is struggling to keep her business, the Dales Dating Agency, afloat. When Samson gets his first case, investigating the supposed suicide of a local man, things take an unexpected turn, and soon he discovers a trail of deaths that lead back to the door of Delilah's agency. With suspicion hanging over someone they both care for, Delilah and Samson soon realize that they need to work together to solve the mystery of the dating deaths. But working together is easier said than done, and the couple must find a way to kiss and make up before more villagers wind up dead.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pgchuis - LibraryThing

It says in the blurb on the back of my edition that this novel is for fans of Midsomer Murders, and I can see what is meant by that: there is a continual insistence on the Dales setting (which becomes ... Read full review

Date with Death

User Review  - Book Verdict

As the son of the local drunk, Samson O'Brien always felt like an outcast in his Yorkshire, England, village. No one knew why he left abruptly, but they haven't forgiven him for not returning for the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2017)

Julia Chapman is the pseudonym of Julia Stagg, who has had five novels, the Fogas Chronicles set in the French Pyrenees, published by Hodder. Date with Death is the first in the Dales Detective series.

Bibliographic information