Midnight Tableau

Front Cover
Double Dragon ebooks, Mar 1, 2004 - Fiction - 184 pages
0 Reviews
Whether it's a young man trapped beneath the sea in the belly of an iron behemoth or an old women trapped within the confines of an abusive marriage, Michael McCrann paints dramatic portraits of people in unpleasant situations. Sometimes they're good people, sometimes they're not-so-good, but always the characters that inhabit these dark worlds are fleshed-out in remarkably vivid dimensions. The twelve tales of dark fiction contained in Midnight Tableau are sophisticated, character-driven, and crafted for a discerning adult readership. The stories include; Lured, La Araqa Afortunada, Forever Isabella, What Needs Doing Will Get Done, Awake, Down the Cellar, The Rubbish Man, The Pledge, The Wail of the Banshee, The Lizard's Tale, Close Your Eyes, Sweet Angel and the novella, Coven of the Unwanted. Each of the settings - from the exotic to the commonplace - are more than mere backdrops. They are carefully fashioned to lure the reader into the fictional nightmare. The plots are filled with thrills and twists. The malevolent forces within range from creepy-crawlies and viscous garden gnomes to more esoteric antagonists like an evil little secret from the past. But, ultimately, it will be the people - the predators as well as the prey - that remain to skulk in the mind for some time to come.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information