Front Cover
Center Point Large Print, 2013 - Fiction - 318 pages
6 Reviews
When Viola Keim starts working at a nearby Mennonite retirement home, she strikes up an unlikely friendship with resident Atle, whose only living relative, son Edward, is a missionary in Nicaragua. Viola understands the importance of mission work, but she can’t imagine leaving her father in the hands of strangers. It’s not in keeping with her Amish sensibilities. Though she doesn’t know Ed, Viola judges him for abandoning his father.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

An Awesome Book

User Review  - Wilani -

Daybreak is an awesome read. It is the first book in a series called the Days of Redemption. It is about an Amish family in Berlin, Ohio. A family that has had secrets from one another not unlike many ... Read full review

Family Secrets

User Review  - Pam Burke -

Daybreak begins Shelley Shepard Gray's The Days of Redemption series in good style. The story is filled with interesting characters who have a lot of issues to deal with. Viola learns that things are ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2013)

Shelley Shephard Gray earned a bachelor's and master's degree in education. Before becoming a full time writer, she taught elementary school in Texas, Arizona, and Colorado. She started writing about the Amish because their way of life appealed to her and she wanted to write stories about regular people in extraordinary situations. Her works include the Sisters of the Heart series, Seasons of Sugarcreek series, The Families of Honor series, Heart of a Hero series, and Secrets of Crittenden County series.

Bibliographic information