Outback Blaze

Front Cover
Harlequin Mira, 2014 - Australian fiction - 368 pages

Ruby wasn't looking for love, Drew wasn't looking to stay... until they found each other. Can their fling survive the darkness of Ruby's past and Drew's desire to move on?

Ruby Jones was always an optimist, but the trauma of her past had made her wary. So when she flees to the small rural community of Bunyip Bay to start afresh, she has her sights firmly set on establishing her horse-riding business and rebuilding her life. The last thing Ruby wants is a romance. In fact, after all she has been through, she can't imagine she will ever believe in love again.

Police officer Drew Noble has no intention of staying in Bunyip Bay - he is just an outsider seeking temporary refuge. But as the charm of the town sways him, Drew finds himself increasingly drawn to the community and its inhabitants, as well as another newcomer, the lovely Ruby Jones.

When Drew investigates a suspicious fire at Ruby's parents' business, he finds himself feeling strangely protective of the girl with the flowers in her hair. As the details of Ruby's past emerge and she comes once more under threat, Drew realises he will do all in his power to save her.

Soon these outsiders discover they have both lost their hearts - not only to the town but to each other.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - shelleyraec - LibraryThing

In Outback Blaze, Rachael Johns invites us to return to the small Western Australian farming community of Bunyip Bay that she introduced us to in Outback Dreams. In the time that Ruby Jones has been ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2014)

Rachael Johns is an Australian author. She holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in Writing and English. After writing for almost ten years, she focused her work on rural romance and women's fiction and became a member of the Romance Writers of Australia. Jilted (her first rural romance) won Favourite Australia Contemporary Romance in 2012. In 2013 she was voted in Booktopia's Top Ten Favourite Aussie Authors. She won the 2015 Australian Romance Readers Awards for Favourite Short or Category Romance for her book Fire Me Up and in the Favourite Contemporary Romance category with her book The Patterson Girls. The 2016 Australian Book Industry Awards named The Patterson Girls, General fiction book of the year. Her other books include Stand-in Star, One Perfect Night, Man-Drought, The Kissing Season, Tease Me Cowboy, Outback Dreams, Outback Blaze, Outback Ghost, The Next Season, The Road to Hope, Kiss the Bride, Casey, Outback Sisters, and Talk of the Town.

Bibliographic information