Canticle Creek

Front Cover
Ultimo Press, 2021 - Australian fiction - 352 pages
4 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
'The rural crime fiction wave continues with this brilliant new arid drama.' - Australian Women's Weekly



'
The writing is generous and whip-smart, with sentences that will stop readers in their tracks to savour them ... Heart-racing twists propel the novel to its denouement, while the oppressive heat and arid landscape add an extra layer of threat to the unfolding drama.'- Books + Publishing



Two bodies. One long hot summer. A town that will never be the same.



When Adam Lawson's wrecked car is found a kilometre from Daisy Baker's body, the whole town assumes it's an open and shut case. But Jesse Redpath isn't from Canticle Creek. Where she comes from, the truth often hides in plain sight, but only if you know where to look. When Jesse starts to ask awkward questions, she uncovers a town full of contradictions and a cast of characters with dark pasts, secrets to hide and even more to lose.



As the temperature soars, and the ground bakes, the wilderness surrounding Canticle Creek becomes a powderkeg waiting to explode. All it needs is one spark.



A twisty crime thriller set in small town Australia perfect for readers of The Dry and Scrublands.



PRAISE FOR CANTICLE CREEK



'
Hyland, a seasoned firefighter, ensures the climactic inferno takes your breath away. More please.' - The Times



'An atmospheric gripper.' - Crime Monthly



'Canticle Creek
had me gripped from beginning to end.' - Lovereading



What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - cathyskye - LibraryThing

Over ten years ago, I fell in love with two books by Adrian Hyland featuring half-white, half aborigine, Emily Tempest, an amateur sleuth who solved a couple of crimes in the Australian Outback. These ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pgchuis - LibraryThing

This features Northern Territories police officer Jesse, who read very much as a female character poorly voiced by a male author. She inserts herself into a murder investigation in neighbouring ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2021)

Adrian Hyland is the award-winning author of Diamond Dove, Gunshot Road and Kinglake-350, which was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award for non-fiction in 2012. His books have been published internationally, including in Britain and the US, and translated into a variety of languages, including German, French, Swedish and Czech.

Bibliographic information