Random: A terrifying and highly inventive debut thriller

Front Cover
Simon & Schuster UK, Apr 5, 2016 - Fiction - 400 pages
A terrifying and highly inventive debut from a new star to the thriller genre—for fans of Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

Glasgow is being terrorized by a brutal serial killer the media have nicknamed The Cutter. The murders have left the police baffled. There seems to be neither rhyme nor reason behind the killings; no kind of pattern or motive; an entirely different method of murder each time, and nothing that connects the victims—except for the fact that the little fingers of their right hands have been severed.

If DS Rachel Narey could only work out the key to the seemingly random murders, how and why the killer selects his victims, she would be well on her way to catching him. But as the police, the press and a threatening figure from Glasgow’s underworld begin to close in on The Cutter, his carefully laid plans threaten to unravel—with horrifying consequences.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jkdavies - LibraryThing

Fast paced and filled with nice observational details to delineate characters and really put you in the shoes of the serial killer who becomes known as the cutter. The plot was a bit simplistic and I ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - pammykn - LibraryThing

AUTHOR Robertson, Craig TITLE: Random DATE READ: 02/27/2016 RATING 4.5/B+ Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2016)

Craig Robertson is a Sunday Times bestselling author, and his debut novel, Random, was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. His most recent novel, Murderabilia was longlisted for the UK’s top crime fiction awards, including Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2017 and the McIlvanney Prize 2017. During his twenty-year career with a Scottish Sunday newspaper, Craig Robertson interviewed three recent prime ministers and reported on major stories including 9/11, the Dunblane school massacre, the Omagh car bombing, and the disappearance of Madeleine McCann.

Bibliographic information