Angela Carter: The Rational Glass

Front Cover
Manchester University Press, Jun 15, 1998 - Biography & Autobiography - 224 pages
This full scale study discusses Angela Carter's fiction in chronological order, and notes that her themes are fairly consistent throughout her work; but consistency of theme is not the same thing as repetition. The new angles and emphases that develop are partly from Carter's immersion in the changing intellectual debates of the times, and concurrently, arise from the reading she was doing at the different stages of her life, which stretched from the Medieval through de Sade to Foucault. Aidan Day describes theoretical arguments on the Enlightenment, modernity, feminism and postmodernism in a way which does not assume too much prior knowledge. Broader in its appeal than much of the specialist work written on Carter, which tends to stress special interests in fantasy, sexuality or the gothic, Day's clarity and thoroughness are refreshing in that they credit Angela Carter's fiction with the central place that it deserves.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Shadow Dance 1966 The Magic Toyshop 1967
Heroes and Villains 1969 and Love 1971

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Aidan Day is Reader in English Literature at the University of Edinburgh.

Bibliographic information