Books Books 1 - 12 of 12 on 9780307958600. (0.34 seconds)

Hostage - Page 42

Elie Wiesel - Fiction - 2012 - 224 pages
Elie Wiesel. round of interrogations. And when it happens, the feeling of inferiority
becomes more acute; it bores into the brain, and the cultural and psychological
defenses that surround the brain disintegrate and vanish. The ego is dissolved.
Limited preview - About this book

Night Film: A Novel

Marisha Pessl - Fiction - 2013 - 640 pages
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR • Cosmopolitan • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting ...
Limited preview - About this book

The Care and Handling of Roses With Thorns: A Novel

Margaret Dilloway - Fiction - 2012 - 416 pages
Winner of the ALA Reading List Award Difficult and obstinate.
Limited preview - About this book

Special Topics in Calamity Physics

Marisha Pessl - Fiction - 2006 - 528 pages
At the center of Special Topics in Calamity Physics is clever, deadpan Blue van Meer, who has a head full of literary, philosophical, scientific, and cinematic knowledge. But she could use some friends.
Limited preview - About this book

Kaaterskill Falls

Allegra Goodman - Fiction - 2009 - 336 pages
Behind the scenes, alarmed as his beloved Kaaterskill is overdeveloped by Michael King, the local real estate broker, Judge Miles Taylor keeps an old secret in check, biding his time.... From the Trade Paperback edition.
Limited preview - About this book

King of the Jews

Leslie Epstein - Fiction - 2010 - 360 pages
" -The Boston Globe "Epstein has done the impossible. He has shown what the power of art--of his art—can reveal of the depths of the unspeakable." -The Philadelphia Inquirer From the Trade Paperback edition.
Limited preview - About this book

The Little Friend: A Novel

Donna Tartt - Fiction - 2011 - 640 pages
The second novel by Donna Tartt, bestselling author of The Goldfinch (winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize), The Little Friend is a grandly ambitious and utterly riveting novel of childhood, innocence and evil.
Limited preview - About this book

Days of Awe

Achy Obejas - Fiction - 2007 - 400 pages
Days of Awe is a lyrical and lovely novel from an author destined for literary renown. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

The Orphan Master's Son: A Novel

Adam Johnson - Fiction - 2012 - 480 pages
Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Limited preview - About this book

The Dead Do Not Improve: A Novel

Jay Caspian Kang - Fiction - 2012 - 272 pages
Hailed as The Awl’s 2012’s novel to anticipate, this glorious debut stars hippie detectives, a singular city, and an MFA student on the run.
Limited preview - About this book

Hostage: A Novel

Robert Crais - Fiction - 2009 - 384 pages
Hostage is a blistering stand-alone thriller with superb characters in crisis, multistranded plotting, and pitch-perfect Southern California sensibility. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

The Story of a Life

Aharon Appelfeld - Biography & Autobiography - 2009 - 173 pages
In this unforgettable work of memory, Aharon Appelfeld offers personal glimpses into the experiences that resonate throughout his fiction. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book