Books Books 1 - 23 of 23 on 9780375983290. (0.47 seconds)

Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters

Barack Obama - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2010 - 40 pages
A Letter to My Daughters Barack Obama.
Limited preview - About this book

Leontyne Price: Voice of a Century

Carole Boston Weatherford - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2014 - 40 pages
From award-winners Carole Boston Weatherford and Raul Colón comes the story of a little girl from Mississippi who became a beloved star—one whose song soared on the breath of her ancestors and paved the way for those who followed.
Limited preview - About this book

Harlem's Little Blackbird

Renee Watson - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2012 - 40 pages
Fans of When Marian Sang and Ella Fitzgerald: The Tale of a Vocal Virtuosa will jump at the chance to discover another talented performer whose voice transcended and transformed the circumstances society placed on her.
Limited preview - About this book

Flags of Our Fathers: Heroes of Iwo Jima

James Bradley, Ron Powers - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2012 - 224 pages
Here is the true story behind the immortal photograph that has come to symbolize the courage and indomitable will of America. In February 1945, American Marines plunged into the surf at Iwo Jima–and into history.
Limited preview - About this book

A Volcano Beneath the Snow: John Brown's War Against Slavery

Albert Marrin - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2014 - 272 pages
Marrin brings 19th-century issues into the modern arena with ease and grace in a book that is sure to spark discussion.
Limited preview - About this book

You Never Heard of Willie Mays?!

Jonah Winter - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2013 - 40 pages
Complete with sidebars filled with stats, here is a book for all baseball lovers, young and old. "The Say Hey Kid had style to spare, and so does this irrepressible book." —Booklist, Starred From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Inside Delta Force

Eric Haney - History - 2003 - 403 pages
Inside Delta Force brings honor to these singular men while it puts us in the middle of action that is sudden, frightening, and nonstop around the world. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Crow

Barbara Wright - Juvenile Fiction - 2012 - 304 pages
The summer of 1898 is filled with ups and downs for 11-year-old Moses.
Limited preview - About this book

Child of the Civil Rights Movement

Paula Young Shelton - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2011 - 40 pages
Poignant, moving, and hopeful, this is an intimate look at the birth of the Civil Rights Movement.
Limited preview - About this book

Barack Obama: Out of Many, One

Shana Corey - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2013 - 48 pages
From the Trade Paperback edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Historical Dictionary of African American Television

Kathleen Fearn-Banks, Anne Burford-Johnson - Performing Arts - 2014 - 640 pages
From Amos 'n' Andy to The Jeffersons to Family Matters to Chappelle's Show, this volume has all different genres—animation, documentaries, sitcoms, sports, talk shows, and variety shows—and performers such as Muhammad Ali, Louis ...
Limited preview - About this book

145th Street: Short Stories

Walter Dean Myers - Juvenile Fiction - 2001 - 192 pages
We meet Angela, who starts having prophetic dreams after her father is killed and Big Joe, who wants a bang-up funeral while he's still around to enjoy it. Some of these stories are private, and some are the ones behind the headlines.
Limited preview - About this book

Out of Bounds

Carolyn Keene - Juvenile Fiction - 2014 - 160 pages
The football players of Bedford High School take their football too seriously for their own good.
Limited preview - About this book

Cause: Reconstruction America 1863-1877

Tonya Bolden - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2014 - 144 pages
The years to come witnessed a time of complex and controversial change. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Condoleezza Rice: A Memoir of My Extraordinary, Ordinary Family and Me

Condoleezza Rice - Juvenile Nonfiction - 2010 - 336 pages
Condoleezza Rice: A Memoir of My Extraordinary, Ordinary Parents and Me is a fascinating and inspirational story for young people. Includes a 16-page photo insert. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Letter to My Daughter

Maya Angelou - Biography & Autobiography - 2008 - 166 pages
You are fat and thin and pretty and plain, gay and straight, educated and unlettered, and I am speaking to you all. Here is my offering to you.” –from Letter to My Daughter From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book

Environmental Economics: A Theoretical Inquiry

Karl-Göran Mäler - Business & Economics - 2013 - 257 pages
First Published in 2011. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Limited preview - About this book

Jack Adrift: Fourth Grade Without a Clue

Jack Gantos - Juvenile Fiction - 2005 - 208 pages
This colorful and comic new collection of interrelated stories featuring the author's hapless alter ego is the first of five books in the Jack Henry series, praised by Booklist for their "hilarious, exquisitely painful, and utterly on ...
Limited preview - About this book

Jack Tumor

Anthony McGowan - Juvenile Fiction - 2009 - 304 pages
Delightfully twisted, desperately funny, and deeply moving, this novel is also the winner of the Booktrust Teenage Prize in the United Kingdom.
Limited preview - About this book

I Love I Hate I Miss My Sister

Amelie Sarn - Juvenile Fiction - 2014 - 160 pages
For readers of The Tyrant’s Daughter, Out of Nowhere, and I Am Malala, this poignant story about two Muslim sisters is about love, loss, religion, forgiveness, women’s rights, and freedom.
Limited preview - About this book

The Storm Before Atlanta

Karen Schwabach - Juvenile Fiction - 2010 - 320 pages
Young readers who like their fiction filled with exciting historical details, rich characters, and action-packed adventures will be drawn to The Storm Before Atlanta. From the Hardcover edition.
Limited preview - About this book